Thornton Heights United Methodist Church was organized in 1919, growing out of First United Methodist Church to serve the Thornton Heights neighborhood of South Portland. Its first pastor was the Rev. John R. Remick. The first church building was constructed on the corner of Braeburn Street and Aspen Avenue and was dedicated in 1927.
In 1954, the congregation purchased the land at its present site on Westbrook Street. The educational unit was constructed in 1958. The sanctuary and additional space were completed in early 1968. Much of the construction on both wings was done by parishioners of all ages. The church’s stained-glass windows depicting Jesus’ life and parables were constructed by members of the church. The unique architecture and soaring roof-line of the church building makes it a landmark in the Portland area.
Beginning as a neighborhood church, the congregation now serves all of the Portland area with programs and outreach to all persons.
-an article appearing in the Portland Press Herald, March 20, 2003